History

Back then…

In the early 1960s seawater aquarium keeping was still in its infancy – there were no custom-made products for near-natural water conditions as found in the sea. Until then, professional and amateur aquarium keepers had been required to create a salt blend themselves from numerous raw materials or purchase partial mixtures in order to provide for their plants and creatures. Optimal natural living conditions could not be achieved in this way and no thought could be paid to the keeping and breeding of sensitive fish and coral species.

It was at this time that an easily-soluble, single-component sea salt was created that contained all of the trace elements of the sea: Tropic Marin® Sea Salt. This was a breakthrough in sea water aquaristics and laid the foundations for the Tropic Marin® company and brand, which is now known worldwide.

In 1964 the first packs left our site in Wartenberg/Germany, which remains the headquarters and production base of our company to this day. Numerous further product innovations followed, such as Tropic Marin® BIO-CALCIUM, which in 1995 became the first product on the market to offer all components for the optimal, balanced supply of calcium in one mixture.

Geschichte---Salzpackungen

New standards were also set with the development of a water testing range. This meant that it was now possible to determine water values with great accuracy and to counteract any deviation from the recommended values.

In recent years Tropic Marin® has increased research in the field of reef aquariums in particular, launching a range of new products on the market. PRO-REEF sea salt and the PRO-CORAL range take account of the special conditions in caring for reef aquariums and form the basis for care and cultivation of even highly-sensitive stony corals. With the products of the BIO-ACTIF range it is also possible to create low nitrate and phosphate concentrations for near-natural conditions in reef aquariums. Organic substances stimulate the microbiology and remove excess nutrients in the aquarium. These developments are the result of intensive research into the natural biotopes of the sea and in intensive co-operation between our development laboratory and scientists, zoos and amateur aquarium enthusiasts.

Geschichte---Salzpackungen-aktuell2

Although the focus of Tropic Marin® products has always been upon seawater aquarium keeping, various mineral mixes for freshwater applications have also been developed. Technical articles are also now featured in the Tropic Marin® range, with these products typically associated with specific innovations. Noteworthy products here include the ELIMI-CONTROL slow filter system and the BIO-ACTIF REACTOR 5000, which provides a new approach for low-nutrient tanks. Tropic Marin® was one of the first manufacturers to introduce energy-saving LED lamps, in the form of the SunaECO modules, with these lamps now almost totally replacing standard lighting.

LED-Module

Today….

Today Tropic Marin® enjoys an outstanding reputation both nationally and internationally. Tropic Marin® sea salts are among the most frequently-used synthetic sea salts, not least due to the exclusive use of high-quality raw materials and the natural composition with the 70 trace elements of the sea.

With the extensive range of sea salts, mineral mixtures, test kits, filter and lighting equipment Tropic Marin® supplies beginners, experienced aquarium keepers, zoos, large aquariums, universities and laboratories in over 50 countries around the world. Tropic Marin® is often involved in the breeding of and research into marine organisms in particular – scientists appreciate the near-natural and reproducible conditions that they achieve with Tropic Marin® products.

The Tropic Marin® brand utilises decades of experience in the continuous innovation of its products. The Tropic Marin® product range now covers over 50 different items, which are developed and manufactured to the highest technical standard at our site in Wartenberg/Germany.

Produktionsanlage-Hermetik

Tomorrow…

In the seawater field significant progress is currently being made in the understanding of chemical and biochemical processes, both in nature and in the aquarium. Aquarium keepers, scientists and manufacturers are developing new methods and approaches that greatly improve the keeping and reproduction of sensitive marine organisms. Of particular note here is the increasing interaction of all areas, from provision of minerals and nutrients to lighting, technical equipment and current flow patterns.

Tropic Marin® continues to focus on researching these interrelations. The goal is to develop new, innovative products that make the aquarium more similar to natural conditions whilst at the same time enabling a high degree of simplicity and safety.

One more recent aspect is the consideration of sustainability in aquarium keeping. On the one hand, this subject concerns the effects that removal from nature and the animal trade have on the respective ecosystems and communities; on the other hand, the areas that are affected by the procurement and operation of an aquarium: environmental balance, energy consumption etc. At Tropic Marin® particular focus is placed on environmentally-friendly properties in the development of new products. With regard to the conditions in the natural habitats of the animals, Tropic Marin® supports initiatives that campaign to improve conditions on site and in the trade.

Geschichte

Damals…

Anfang der 60er Jahre befand sich die Meerwasseraquaristik noch in den Anfängen – maßgefertigte Produkte für naturnahe Wasserbedingungen wie im Meer gab es noch keine. Professionelle und Hobby-Aquarianer mussten sich bis dahin aus vielen Rohstoffen ein Salzgemisch selbst erzeugen oder auf Teilmischungen zurückgreifen, um Ihre Pfleglinge halten zu können. Optimale natürliche Lebensbedingungen konnten auf diese Weise nicht erreicht werden, und an die Haltung und Nachzucht empfindlicher Fisch- und Korallenarten war gar nicht zu denken.

In diese Zeit fällt die Entwicklung eines leicht löslichen, vollständigen 1-Komponenten-Meersalzes, welches alle Spurenelemente des Meeres enthielt: Tropic Marin® Meersalz. Dies war ein Durchbruch in der Meerwasseraquaristik und legte den Grundstein für das Unternehmen und die Marke Tropic Marin®, die heute weltbekannt ist.

Die ersten Packungen verließen schließlich Ende 1964 unseren Standort in Wartenberg bei Fulda, der auch heute noch Sitz und Produktionsstätte des Unternehmens ist. Es folgten viele weitere Produktinnovationen, wie z.B. das Tropic Marin® BIO-CALCIUM, das 1995 als erstes Produkt auf dem Markt sämtliche Komponenten für eine optimale, ausgeglichene Calciumversorgung in einer Mischung enthielt.

Geschichte---Salzpackungen

Neue Maßstäbe setzte auch die Entwicklung eines Wassertest-Sortiments. Nun war es möglich wichtige Wasserwerte sehr genau zu bestimmen, und bei Abweichungen von den empfohlenen Werten angemessen gegenzusteuern.

In den letzten Jahren hat Tropic Marin® die Forschung speziell auf dem Gebiet der Riffaquaristik verstärkt und eine Vielzahl neuer Produkte auf den Markt gebracht. Das Meersalz PRO-REEF und die PRO-CORAL Linie berücksichtigen die besonderen Pflegebedingungen in Riffaquarien und legen den Grundstein für Pflege und Zucht selbst empfindlichster Steinkorallen. Mit den Produkten der BIO-ACTIF Linie ist es zudem möglich, niedrige Nitrat- und Phosphatkonzentrationen für naturnahe Verhältnisse in Riffaquarien zu schaffen. Durch organische Substanzen wird die Mikrobiologie gezielt gefördert und Nährstoffüberschüsse im Aquarium abgebaut. Diese Entwicklungen entstanden durch eine intensive Erforschung der natürlichen Biotope im Meer und unter intensiver Kooperation zwischen unserem Entwicklungslabor und Wissenschaftlern, Zoos und Hobby-Aquarianern.

Geschichte---Salzpackungen-aktuell2

Obwohl der Schwerpunkt von Tropic Marin® Produkten früher wie heute im Bereich der Meerwasseraquaristik liegt, wurden auch verschiedene Mineralienmischungen für Süßwasseranwendungen entwickelt. Auch technische Artikel gehören mittlerweile zum Tropic Marin® Sortiment, wobei mit diesen Produkten meist besondere Innovationen verbunden sind. Hervorzuheben sind beispielsweise das Langsamfilter-System ELIMI-CONTROL oder der BIO-ACTIF REACTOR 5000, der einen neuen Weg zu nährstoffarmen Becken ermöglicht. Als einer der ersten Hersteller führte Tropic Marin® mit den SunaECO-Modulen ein umfangreiches Programm an energiesparenden LED-Leuchten ein, die inzwischen die herkömmlichen Leuchten fast vollständig verdrängt haben.Tropic Marin SunaECO LED-Module

Heute….

Heute genießt Tropic Marin® national und international einen hervorragenden Ruf. Tropic Marin® Meersalze gehören zu den am häufigsten verwendeten synthetischen Meersalzen, und das nicht zuletzt durch die ausschließliche Verwendung hochwertiger Rohstoffe und die natürliche Zusammensetzung mit den 70 Spurenelementen des Meeres.

Mit dem umfangreichen Angebot an Meersalzen, Mineralienmischungen, Testkits, Filter- und Beleuchtungsartikeln versorgt Tropic Marin® Einsteiger, fortgeschrittene Aquarianer, Zoos, Großaquarien, Universitäten und Labore in über 50 Ländern der Welt. Besonders bei Nachzuchten und in der Forschung mit marinen Organismen kommt Tropic Marin® häufig zum Einsatz – Wissenschaftler schätzen die naturnahen und reproduzierbaren Bedingungen, die sie mit Tropic Marin® Produkten erreichen.

Die Marke Tropic Marin® baut auf eine jahrzehntelange Erfahrung und setzt auf stetige Innovation in der Produktentwicklung. Die Tropic Marin® Produktpalette umfasst mittlerweile über 50 verschiedene Erzeugnisse, die in unserem Standort in Wartenberg entwickelt und auf höchstem technischen Niveau hergestellt werden.

Produktionsanlage-Hermetik

Morgen…

Im Meerwasser-Bereich gibt es derzeit erhebliche Fortschritte hinsichtlich des Verständnisses von chemischen und biochemischen Prozessen sowohl in der Natur als auch im Aquarium. Aquarianer, Wissenschaftler und Hersteller entwickeln neue Methoden und Ansätze, die die Haltung und Vermehrung von empfindlichen Meeresorganismen stark verbessern. Bemerkenswert ist dabei das zunehmende Ineinandergreifen aller Bereiche, von der Versorgung mit Mineralien und Nährstoffen, über die Lichtbedingungen, der technischen Ausstattung bis hin zu Strömungsmustern.

In der Erforschung dieser Zusammenhänge setzt auch Tropic Marin® weiterhin seinen Schwerpunkt. Ziel ist die Entwicklung neuer innovativer Produkte, die das Aquarium den natürlichen Bedingungen noch näherbringen, und gleichzeitig für den Anwender ein Höchstmaß an Einfachheit und Sicherheit ermöglichen.

Ein noch junger Gesichtspunkt ist die Berücksichtigung der Nachhaltigkeit in der Aquaristik. Dieses Thema betrifft einerseits die Auswirkungen, die durch eventuelle Naturentnahmen und den Tierhandel in den jeweiligen Ökosystemen und Gesellschaften verbunden sind; andererseits die Bereiche, die durch die Anschaffung und den Betrieb eines Aquariums betroffen sind: Umweltbilanz, Energieverbrauch u.a.. Hier wird Tropic Marin® bei der Entwicklung von neuen Produkten besonderes Augenmerk auf möglichst umweltschonende Eigenschaften legen. Im Hinblick auf die Bedingungen in den natürlichen Habitaten der Tiere unterstützt Tropic Marin® Initiativen, die sich für Verbesserungen vor Ort und im Handel einsetzen.