Calcium/Magnesium Combitest Professional

  1. Features:

    For high precision determination of the Ca and Mg concentration in saltwater

    Along with sodium, potassium, chloride and sulphate, calcium (Ca2+) and magnesium (Mg2+) are two key components of natural seawater. Magnesium and, above all, calcium are important growth factors for organisms which form calcareous skeletons, such as hard coral and coralline algae – both elements form the basic substance of the calcareous skeleton. Furthermore, magnesium and calcium are involved in numerous biochemical processes. In saltwater applications, the reduction in the magnesium or calcium concentration caused partly by cellular metabolism and partly by skeleton formation means it is necessary to test the concentration levels on a regular basis and, if required, add more of one or both ions. This makes it possible to guarantee optimum, near-natural living conditions for all organisms and to prevent long-term damage.

    In natural seawater, the calcium concentration is 400-410 mg/l (ppm) and the magnesium concentration is 1280-1320 mg/l (ppm). They also have a fixed ratio of 1:3.25 to one another. Due to the chemical and biochemical interdependencies between calcium and magnesium, you should also aim to achieve this concentration ratio in saltwater tanks.

    With the high resolution titration test Tropic Marin® Calcium/Magnesium Combitest Professional the calcium and magnesium concentrations can be determined reliably and separately with a resolution of 4 mg/l Ca and 20 mg/l Mg.

  2. Benefits:

    Measurement range: Ca 300 – 498 mg/l (ppm)
    Measurement range: Mg 820 – 1800 mg/l (ppm)
    Accuracy: Ca 4 mg/l
    Accuracy: Mg 20 mg/l
    For determining the Ca and Mg concentration in saltwater aquaria
    Sufficient for approximately 50 applications
  3. How to use:

    Note: The calcium concentration is determined first, and then the magnesium concentration is determined using the same sample.

    Determining the calcium level:

    1. Shake the bottles before use!
    2. Rinse out both glass cuvettes with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.
    3. Fill each glass cuvette with exactly 5 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe. Put one of the two water samples aside as a reference.
    4. Place a clean dropper tip onto the 1 ml dosing syringe with red lettering and draw out reagent A up to the 20 marking on the syringe (corresponds to 0.5 ml). Empty the entire amount into the cuvette with the analysis sample.
    5. Close the glass cuvette using the stopper and briefly swirl the solution.
    6. Then mix reagent B (powder) with the measuring spoon and add 1 level measuring spoon of reagent B to the glass cuvette containing the analysis sample. Swirl the cuvette carefully until the powder has dissolved. The water sample will turn light-blue.
    7. Place another clean dropper tip onto the 1 ml dosing syringe with black lettering and draw out 1 ml of reagent C.
    8. Now add reagent C from the syringe to the analysis sample drop by drop until the light-blue solution becomes colourless. Swirl the cuvette after each new drop. To assist in detecting the colour change, take the comparison sample (the second cuvette you prepared at point 3) on a white surface and look into both cuvettes from above when they are sitting side by side. You can stop adding drops when the colour change is complete and there is no difference between the analysis sample and the comparison sample.
    9. The residual volume of reagent C in the syringe shows the calcium concentration CCa in mg/l (ppm) that can be determined using table I.

    Example: If the lower side of the syringe plunger is at 0.46 ml following titration, then the residual volume of reagent C is 0.46 ml. The calcium concentration in the sample is: Ca = 392 mg/l.

    10. The residual volume of reagent C in the syringe can be put back into bottle C.

    Determining the magnesium level:

    11. Place the third clean dropper tip onto the 1 ml dosing syringe with the green plunger and draw out 1 ml of reagent D.
    12. Add approx. 0.4 ml of reagent D to the water sample. The water sample will turn light-blue again.
    13. Now add the remaining reagent D from the syringe to the water sample drop by drop until the light-blue solution becomes colourless*. Swirl the cuvette after each new drop. To assist in detecting the colour change, take the comparison sample (the second cuvette you prepared at point 3) on a white surface again and look into both cuvettes from above when they are sitting side by side.
    14. The residual volume of reagent D in the syringe shows the magnesium concentration CMg in mg/l (ppm) that can be determined using table II.

    Example: If the lower side of the syringe plunger is at 0.35 ml following titration, then the residual volume of reagent C is 0.35 ml. The magnesium concentration in the sample is: Mg = 1300 mg/l (ppm).

    15. The residual volume of reagent D in the syringe can be put back into bottle D. Rinse out the glass cuvettes, dosing syringes and dropper tips thoroughly with tap water and allow to dry before using them again.
    * Note: If the colour change from light-blue to colourless is difficult to detect, we recommend to carry out the measurement under a bright light source which is similar to daylight.

    How to correct unfavourable values

    To increase the concentration of calcium, we recommend using Tropic Marin® ALCA-BALANCE or ORIGINAL BALLING Components PART A and for magnesium we recommend Tropic Marin® BIO-MAGNESIUM. If calcium or magnesium concentrations are overly high, a partial water change should be carried out.

    Shelf life and storage

    6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

    The entire instruction manual as PDF file can be found here: Ca-Mg-Test Professional

  4. Item

    Art-N°

    Ca/Mg-Test Professional 28380
    Refill Pack 28790

Calcium/Magnesium-Combitest Professional

  1. Produktbeschreibung:

    Zur hochpräzisen Bestimmung der Calcium- und Magnesium-Konzentration

    Calcium (Ca2+) und Magnesium (Mg2+) zählen neben Natrium, Kalium, Chlorid und Sulfat zu den Hauptkomponenten natürlichen Meerwassers. Für kalkskelettbildende Lebewesen, wie z.B. Steinkorallen und Kalkrotalgen, sind Magnesium und vor allen Dingen Calcium wichtige Wachstumsfaktoren – beide Elemente bilden die Grundsubstanz des Kalkskeletts. Darüber hinaus laufen zahlreiche biochemische Prozesse unter Beteiligung von Magnesium und Calcium ab. Die Abnahme der Magnesium- bzw. der Calciumkonzentration durch zellulären Stoffwechsel einerseits und durch Skeletteinbau andererseits erfordert in der Meerwasseraquaristik eine regelmäßige Kontrolle und eventuelle Nachdosierung der beiden Ionen. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, optimale und naturnahe Lebensbedingungen für alle Lebewesen zu garantieren und langfristige Schäden zu vermeiden.

    Im natürlichen Meerwasser liegen der Calciumgehalt bei 400-410 mg/l und der Magnesiumgehalt bei 1280-1320 mg/l sowie in einem festen Verhältnis von 1:3,25 zueinander. Wegen chemischer und biochemischer Wechselwirkungen zwischen Calcium und Magnesium sollte dieses Konzentrationsverhältnis auch im Meerwasserbecken angestrebt werden.

    Mit dem hochauflösenden Titrationstest Tropic Marin® Calcium/Magnesium-Combitest Professional kann die Konzentration beider Elemente zuverlässig und getrennt voneinander mit einer Genauigkeit von 4 mg/l Ca bzw. 20 mg/l Mg bestimmt werden.

  2. Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

    Messbereich: Ca 300 – 498 mg/l
    Messbereich: Mg 820 – 1800 mg/l
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): Ca 4 mg/l
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): Mg 20 mg/l
    zur hochpräzisen Bestimmung der Calcium- und Magnesium-Konzentration in Meerwasseraquarien
    ausreichend für ca. 50 Anwendungen
  3. Anwendungsempfehlung:

    Hinweis: Im ersten Teil wird die Calcium-Konzentration bestimmt, anschließend mit der gleichen Probe die Magnesium-Konzentration.

    Calcium-Bestimmung:

    1. Die Flaschen vor Gebrauch schütteln!
    2. Beide Glasküvetten mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.
    3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 5 ml Aquarienwasser in jede Glasküvette füllen. Eine Küvette als Vergleichsprobe zur Seite stellen.
    4. Einen sauberen Aufsatz auf die 1 ml Dosierspritze mit rotem Aufdruck stecken und Reagenz A bis zur Markierung 20 der Spritze (entspricht 0,5 ml) aufziehen. Die gesamte Menge in die Analysenprobe geben.
    5. Die Glasküvette mit dem Stopfen verschließen und die Lösung kurz schwenken.
    6. Anschließend mit dem Messlöffel das Reagenz B (Pulver) durchmischen und einen gestrichenen Messlöffel Reagenz B zur Glasküvette mit der Probe hinzugeben. Die Küvette vorsichtig schwenken, bis das Pulver gelöst ist. Die Wasserprobe färbt sich hellblau.
    7. Einen weiteren sauberen Spritzenaufsatz auf die 1 ml-Dosierspritze mit schwarzem Aufdruck stecken und 1 ml Reagenz C aufziehen.
    8. Nun Reagenz C aus der Spritze so lange tropfenweise zur Wasserprobe geben, bis die hellblaue Lösung farblos wird. Nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette vorsichtig schwenken. Zum besseren Erkennen des Farbumschlages die Vergleichsprobe (die unter Punkt 3 vorbereitete zweite Küvette) und eine weiße Unterlage zur Hilfe nehmen und von oben in die beiden nebeneinanderstehenden Küvetten schauen. Das Zutropfen wird beendet, wenn der Farbumschlag beendet und die Analysenprobe nicht mehr von der Vergleichsprobe zu unterscheiden ist.
    9. Die Restmenge an Reagenz C in der Spritze ergibt die Calciumkonzentration CCa in mg/l, die aus Tabelle I abgelesen werden kann.

    Beispiel: Ist das untere Ende des Spritzenkolbens nach Ende der Titration bei 0,46 ml, so beträgt die Restmenge an Reagenz C 0,46 ml. Die Calcium-Konzentration der Probe entspricht: Ca = 392 mg/l.

    10. In der Spritze verbliebenes Reagenz C kann zurück in die entsprechende Flasche C gegeben werden.

    Magnesium-Bestimmung:

    11. Den dritten sauberen Spritzenaufsatz auf die 1 ml-Dosierspritze mit grünem Kolben stecken und 1 ml Reagenz D aufziehen.
    12. Geben Sie zunächst ca. 0,4 ml des Reagenz D zur Wasserprobe. Die Probe färbt sich wieder hellblau.
    13. Nun das restliche Reagenz D aus der Spritze so lange tropfenweise zur Wasserprobe geben, bis die hellblaue Lösung farblos wird*. Nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette vorsichtig schwenken. Zum besseren Erkennen des Farbumschlages wieder die Vergleichsprobe (die unter Punkt 3 vorbereitete zweite Küvette) und eine weiße Unterlage zur Hilfe nehmen und von oben in die beiden nebeneinanderstehenden Küvetten schauen.
    14. Die Restmenge an Reagenz D in der Spritze ergibt die Magnesiumkonzentration CMg in mg/l, die aus Tabelle II abgelesen werden kann.

    Beispiel: Ist das untere Ende des Spritzenkolbens nach Ende der Titration bei 0,35 ml, so beträgt die Restmenge an Reagenz C 0,35 ml. Die Magnesium-Konzentration der Probe entspricht: Mg = 1300 mg/l.

    15. In der Spritze verbliebenes Reagenz D kann zurück in die entsprechende Flasche D gegeben werden. Die Glasküvetten, Dosierspritzen und Spritzenaufsätze gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen und bis zum nächsten Gebrauch trocknen lassen.
    * Anmerkung: Falls der Farbumschlag von hellblau nach farblos nicht gut zu erkennen ist, empfehlen wir die Messung unter einer hellen, tageslichtähnlichen Quelle durchzuführen.

    Maßnahmen

    Zur Erhöhung der Calcium- bzw. Magnesiumkonzentration empfehlen wir die Verwendung von Tropic Marin® ALCA-BALANCE oder ORIGINAL BALLING Components PART A bzw. BIO-MAGNESIUM.

    Liegen überhöhte Konzentrationen an Calcium oder Magnesium vor, sollte ein Teilwasserwechsel vorgenommen werden.

    Haltbarkeit
    Die Reagenzien sind 6 Monate nach Anbruch haltbar. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

    Die gesamte Bedienungsanleitung als PDF-Dokument finden Sie hier: Ca-Mg-Test Professional

  4. Artikel

    Art-N°

    Ca/Mg-Test Professional 28380
    Nachfüllpackung 28790