Nitrite/Nitrate-Test Professional

  1. Features:

    For high precision determination of the nitrite and nitrate concentration

    Nitrate ions (NO3) are formed from ammonium (NH4+) as the end product of the nitrification process. Nitrite (NO2), which is highly toxic to freshwater species in particular, is produced in the first stage of the bacterial process. If the nitrification process works, nitrite is converted to the comparatively non-toxic nitrate in the second stage. Increased levels of nitrite above 0.05 mg/l (ppm) are usually found in tanks that are in their maturation phase or in tanks with nitrate filters.

    Nitrate affects the quality of the water in the aquarium: Higher concentrations of nitrate in saltwater aquariums will end up inhibiting the growth of delicate coral. An algal bloom is often the result of a high nitrate level in an aquarium. Some reef aquariums have ultra-low nutrient conditions – nitrate shortages can occur in cases such as these. Therefore, the nitrate concentration in the aquarium water should be tested regularly. It is advisable to keep the nitrate concentration in freshwater aquariums below 50 mg/l (ppm), whereas the concentration should not exceed 20 mg/l (ppm) in saltwater applications. When nurturing hard coral, the aim is to keep the nitrate concentration below 10 mg/l (ppm). Lower limits for nitrate depend on the general conditions in the aquarium.

    With the high resolution Tropic Marin® Nitrite/Nitrate-Test Professional the nitrite and nitrate concentrations can be determined with a particularly high accuracy in the low concentration range between 0 and 1 ppm for nitrite and between 0 – 20 ppm for nitrate.

  2. Benefits:

    Measurement range: NO2 0 – 1,0 mg/l (ppm)
    Measurement range: NO3 0 – 20 mg/l (ppm)
    Accuracy: NO2 0.002 mg/l
    Accuracy: NO3 0.05 mg/l
    For determining the nitrite/nitrate concentration in aquaria
    Incl. comparator and phosphate standard to check function and shelf life of the test reagents
    Sufficient for approximately 50 applications
  3. How to use:

    Determining the nitrite level:

    1. Shake the bottles before use!
    2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.
    3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 15 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe and place it in the comparator which serves as a cuvette stand.
    4. Place the dropper tip on the 1 ml dosing syringe, add 1 ml test reagent A, close the glass cuvette using the stopper, briefly shake the solution and place it back in the comparator.
    5. Then add 4 drops of test reagent C, close the glass cuvette once again, shake it briefly and place it back in the comparator.
    6. After 3 minutes of development time, place the glass cuvette in the comparator on the white circles of the nitrite colour card in such a way that the second free opening on the comparator (without cuvette) is underneath the colour card (not on the colour fields) and the narrow end face of the comparator is facing the colour fields. Now the colour of the water sample is compared to the opposing colour fields by daylight conditions. To do this, look into the open cuvette from above. Move the sample on the colour card until the cuvette colour and the colour field colour match exactly.
    7. Read off the measured nitrite value under the relevant colour field. If the colours do not match exactly, an intermediate value can be estimated.

    Determining the nitrate level:

    1. Shake the bottles before use!
    2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.
    3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 15 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe and place it in the comparator which serves as a cuvette stand.
    4. Place the dropper tip on the 1 ml dosing syringe, draw out 1 ml of test reagent A and add it to the water sample. Close the glass cuvette using the stopper, briefly shake the sample and place it back in the comparator.
    5. Shake the bottle with test reagent B vigorously in a horizontal direction for approx. 30 seconds (the reagent must be well shaken).  Then add 10 drops of test reagent B to the aquarium sample, close the cuvette again, shake it briefly and place it back in the comparator.
    6. After 3 minutes of development time, add 4 drops of test reagent C, close the glass cuvette once again, shake it briefly and place it back in the comparator.
    7. After another 3 minutes of development time, place the comparator on the white circles of the nitrate colour card in such a way that the second free opening on the comparator (without cuvette) is underneath the colour card (not on the colour fields) and the narrow end face of the comparator is facing the colour fields. Look into the open cuvette from above and compare it to the opposing colour fields by daylight conditions. Move the sample on the colour card until the cuvette colour and the colour field colour match exactly.
    8. Read off the measured nitrate value under the relevant colour field. If the colours do not match exactly, an intermediate value can be estimated.
    9. Rinse out the glass cuvette, the syringe and the dropper tip thoroughly with tap water after the measurement process.

    Note

    Nitrite concentrations affect the nitrate measurement. Therefore, the nitrite concentration should also be measured and, if required, the nitrate results should be corrected in relation to the table before carrying out the nitrate measurement. High nitrite levels are usually found in tanks that are in their maturation phase or in tanks with nitrate filters.

    Using the “standard” to verify the test

    The shelf life of reagents depends on storage conditions and other factors. If the functional capacity of the test is inadequate, there will be no colour reaction during the test, even if nitrate levels are particularly high. If the measurement result is below 1 mg/l (ppm), add five drops of the reference solution “standard” to a new sample in order to verify the reliability of the test. If the colour changes to pink (2 mg/l (ppm)) when you carry out the test again, then the reliability of the reagents is verified as good.

    How to correct unfavourable values

    If the nitrite and/or nitrate concentration in the water is too high, we recommend:

    Assessing and, where necessary, reducing the feeding quantities or enriching the food with Tropic Marin® LIPOVIT / LIPO-GARLIC;
    Assessing and, where necessary, regulating the stocking rate;
    Exchanging a proportion of the water on a regular basis;
    Using Tropic Marin® NP-BACTO-BALANCE and / or NP-BACTO-PELLETS to reduce the nutritional level over the medium term.

    Shelf life and storage

    6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

    The entire instruction manual as PDF file can be found here: Nitrite/Nitrate-Test Professional

  4. Item

    Art-N°

    NO2/NO3 -Test Professional 28360
    Refill Pack 28788

Nitrit/Nitrat-Test Professional

  1. Produktbeschreibung:

    Zur hochpräzisen Bestimmung der Nitrit- und Nitrat-Konzentration

    Nitrat-Ionen (NO3) entstehen als Endprodukt der Nitrifikation aus Ammonium (NH4+). In der ersten Teilstufe dieses bakteriellen Prozesses bildet sich Nitrit (NO2), welches vor allem für Süßwassertiere in hohem Maße giftig ist. Bei funktionierender Nitrifikation wird das Nitrit in der zweiten Stufe zum vergleichsweise ungiftigen Nitrat umgesetzt. Erhöhte Nitrit-Werte über 0,05 mg/l kommen vor allem in Becken in der Einfahrphase oder in Becken mit Nitratfiltern vor.

    Nitrate beeinflussen die Wasserqualität im Aquarium: In Meerwasseraquarien führen erhöhte Nitrat-Konzentrationen zu einer Störung des Wachstums empfindlicher Korallen. Eine Gefahr hoher Nitratgehalte für alle Aquarien besteht in der starken Förderung des Algenwuchses. In manchen Riffaquarien werden äußerst nährstoffarme Bedingungen hergestellt – hier kann es gegebenenfalls zu Nitratmangelsituationen kommen. Daher sollte die Nitrat-Konzentration des Aquarienwassers regelmäßig überprüft werden. Für Nitrat in Süßwasseraquarien sind Gehalte unter 50 mg/l empfehlenswert, während im Meerwasser Konzentrationen nicht über 20 mg/l liegen sollten. Bei der Pflege von Steinkorallen sind Nitratgehalte unter 10 mg/l anzustreben. Untergrenzen für Nitrat hängen von den allgemeinen Bedingungen im Aquarium ab.

    Mit dem hochauflösenden Tropic Marin® Nitrit/Nitrat -Test Professional kann die Nitrit-Konzentration mit einer besonders hohen Genauigkeit im niedrigen Konzentrationsbereich zwischen 0 und 1 mg/l und eine Nitrat-Konzentration zwischen 0 und 20 mg/l bestimmt werden.

  2. Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

    Messbereich: NO2 0 – 1,0 mg/l
    Messbereich: NO3 0 – 20 mg/l
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): NO2 0,002 mg/l
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): NO3 0,05 mg/l
    zur hochpräzisen Bestimmung der Nitrit/Nitrat -Konzentration im Aquarium
    mit Komparator für einen optimalen Farbvergleich
    inkl. Standard zur Überprüfung des Tests auf Funktion und Haltbarkeit
    ausreichend für ca. 50 Anwendungen
  3. Anwendungsempfehlung:

    Nitrit-Bestimmung:

    1. Die Flaschen vor Gebrauch schütteln!
    2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.
    3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 15 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvette füllen und in den Komparator, der als Küvettenständer dient, abstellen.
    4. Den Spritzenaufsatz auf die 1 ml-Dosierspritze stecken, 1 ml Testreagenz A hinzugeben, die Glasküvette mit dem Stopfen verschließen, die Lösung kurz schütteln und in den Komparator zurückstellen.
    5. Anschließend 4 Tropfen Testreagenz C zugeben, die Glasküvette abermals verschließen, kurz schütteln und in den Komparator zurückstellen.
    6. Nach 3 Minuten Entwicklungszeit die Glasküvette im Komparator so auf die weißen Kreise der Nitrit-Farbkarte stellen, dass sich die zweite freie Öffnung des Komparators (ohne Küvette) unterhalb der Farbkarte befindet (nicht auf den Farbfeldern) und die schmale Stirnseite des Komparators zu den Farbfeldern zeigt. Nun wird die Farbe der Wasserprobe bei Tageslicht mit den gegenüberliegenden Farbfeldern verglichen. Dazu von oben in die geöffnete Küvette schauen. Die Probe auf der Farbkarte verschieben, bis die Küvette und das Farbfeld darüber die gleiche Farbe zeigen.
    7. Den gemessenen Nitrit-Wert unter dem entsprechenden Farbfeld ablesen. Falls die Farben nicht exakt übereinstimmen, muss ein Zwischenwert abgeleitet werden.

    Nitrat-Bestimmung:

    1. Die Flaschen vor Gebrauch schütteln!
    2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.
    3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 15 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvette füllen und in den Komparator, der als Küvettenständer dient, abstellen.
    4. Den Spritzenaufsatz auf die 1 ml-Dosierspritze stecken, 1 ml Testreagenz A aufziehen und zur Wasserprobe geben. Die Glasküvette mit dem Stopfen verschließen, die Probe kurz schütteln und in den Komparator zurückstellen.
    5. Die Flasche mit dem Testreagenz B ca. 30 Sekunden sehr kräftig in der Waagrechten schütteln (das Reagenz muss aufgeschüttelt werden). Anschließend 10 Tropfen Testreagenz B zur Aquarienprobe geben, Küvette erneut verschließen, kurz schütteln und in den Komparator zurückstellen.
    6. Nach 3 Minuten Entwicklungszeit 4 Tropfen Testreagenz C zugeben, die Glasküvette abermals verschließen, kurz schütteln und in den Komparator zurückstellen.
    7. Nach weiteren 3 Minuten Entwicklungszeit den Komparator so auf die weißen Kreise der Nitrat-Farbkarte stellen, dass sich die zweite freie Öffnung des Komparators (ohne Küvette) unterhalb der Farbkarte befindet (nicht auf den Farbfeldern) und die schmale Stirnseite des Komparators zu den Farbfeldern zeigt. Von oben in die geöffnete Küvette schauen und bei Tageslicht mit den gegenüberliegenden Farbfeldern vergleichen. Die Probe auf der Farbkarte verschieben, bis die Küvette und das Farbfeld darüber die gleiche Farbe zeigen.
    8. Den gemessenen Nitrat-Wert unter dem entsprechenden Farbfeld ablesen. Falls die Farben nicht exakt übereinstimmen, muss ein Zwischenwert abgeleitet werden.
    9. Nach dem Messvorgang Glasküvette, Spritze und Spritzenaufsatz gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen.

    Hinweis

    Nitrit-Konzentrationen beeinflussen die Nitrat-Messung, so dass vor Durchführung der Nitrat-Messung auch die Nitrit-Konzentration gemessen und die Nitrat-Ergebnisse gegebenenfalls entsprechend der Tabelle korrigiert werden sollten. Hohe Nitrit-Werte kommen vor allem in Aquarien in der Einfahrphase oder in Becken mit Nitratfiltern vor.

    Anwendung des „Standards“ zur Überprüfung des Tests

    Die Haltbarkeit der Reagenzien ist u.a. von den Lagerbedingungen abhängig. Bei nicht ausreichender Funktionsfähigkeit zeigt der Test auch bei höheren Nitratwerten keine Farbentwicklung mehr. Um bei einem Messergebnis unter 1 mg/l die Zuverlässigkeit des Tests zu überprüfen, geben Sie fünf Tropfen der Referenzlösung „Standard“ zu einer neuen Probe. Kommt es bei der erneuten Durchführung des Tests zu einem rosa Farbumschlag (2 mg/l), so ist die Zuverlässigkeit der Reagenzien gewährleistet.

    Maßnahmen

    Bei zu hohen Nitrit- und/oder Nitrat-Konzentration im Wasser empfehlen wir:

    eine Überprüfung und gegebenenfalls Reduzierung der Fütterungsmengen bzw. Anreicherung des Futters mit Tropic Marin® LIPOVIT / LIPO-GARLIC;
    eine Überprüfung und eventuelle Regulierung der Besatzdichte;
    regelmäßige Teilwasserwechsel;
    den Einsatz von Tropic Marin® NP-BACTO-BALANCE und / oder NP-BACTO-PELLETS zur mittelfristigen Absenkung des Nährstoffniveaus;


    Haltbarkeit

    Die Reagenzien sind 6 Monate nach Anbruch haltbar. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

    Die gesamte Bedienungsanleitung als PDF-Dokument finden Sie hier: Nitrite/Nitrate-Test Professional

  4. Artikel

    Art-N°

    NO2/NO3 -Test Professional 28360
    Nachfüllpackung 28788