GH-Test (total hardness)

  1. Features:

    For determining the total hardness (GH) in freshwater aquaria

    The total hardness (GH) constitutes the amount of dissolved magnesium and calcium salts in the water. If the concentration of these salts is low, the water is referred to as soft water, if the concentration is high, the water is referred to as hard water. The reading is usually given in degrees of German hardness (°dH), whereby 1 °dH equates to 10 mg per litre of dissolved calcium oxide. The concentration of these salts in the water affects the organic functions of the fish and plants. Therefore, it should be tested on a regular basis.

    The optimum total hardness value depends on the species of fish. Many African (e.g. aphyosemion) and South-east Asian species (e.g. trichogaster) cope with hard water easily. On the other hand, South American tetra, for example, need soft water to feel comfortable. A hardness level of 3-10 °dH is favourable in a freshwater aquarium.

    The Tropic Marin® GH-Test makes it possible to quickly determine the total hardness of your aquarium water. This test kit will do approximately 100 tests (depending on test results) that are both fast and accurate.

  2. Benefits:

    Measurement range: 1 – 20 °dH
    Accuracy: 0.5/ 1 °dH
    For determining the total hardness in freshwater aquaria
    Sufficient for approximately 100 applications
    Measured on the German hardness scale (°dH)
    Conversion Table for other units in the instruction manual included
  3. How to use:

    1. Shake the dropper bottle before use!
    2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.
    3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 5 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe.
    4. Now add the GH test reagent drop by drop (shake the cuvette after each drop), until the colour of the solution changes from PINK to TURQUOISE.
    5. The number of drops indicates the total hardness of the solution in °dH, e.g. 8 drops = 8 °dH. To increase the accuracy of the measurement, a 10 ml water sample (instead of 5 ml) can be used. In that case, 1 drop corresponds to 0.5 °dH, i.e. 15 drops = 7.5 °dH.
    6. Rinse out the glass cuvette and the syringe thoroughly with tap water after the measurement process.

    How to correct unfavourable values

    If the total hardness level is too high, we recommend exchanging a proportion of the water for soft water. Ask your specialist pet retailer for advice regarding this. If the total hardness level is too low, we recommend adding Tropic Marin® PRO-DISCUS MINERAL to increase the hardness.

    Shelf life and storage6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

    The entire instruction manual as PDF file can be found here: GH-Test

  4. Item

    Art-N°

    GH-Test 28230
    Refill Pack 28774

GH-Test Süßwasser

  1. Produktbeschreibung:

    Zur Bestimmung der Gesamthärte im Süßwasseraquarium

    Die Gesamthärte GH bezeichnet die Menge der im Wasser gelösten Magnesium- und Calciumsalze. Ist die Menge dieser Salze gering, spricht man von weichem Wasser, bei größerer Menge von hartem Wasser. Die Angabe erfolgt meist in Grad deutscher Härte (°dH), wobei 1 °dH mit 10 mg pro Liter gelöstem Calciumoxid gleichgesetzt wird. Die Konzentration dieser Salze im Wasser beeinflusst die organischen Funktionen der Fische und Pflanzen und sollte daher regelmäßig überprüft werden.

    Der optimale Wert für die Gesamthärte hängt von den Fischarten ab. Viele afrikanische (z.B. Aphyosemion) und südostasiatische Arten (z.B. Trichogaster) können hartes Wasser gut vertragen. Südamerikanische Salmler z.B. brauchen dagegen weiches Wasser, um sich wohlzufühlen. Als günstig gilt eine Härte von 3-10 °dH im Süßwasseraquarium.

    Der Tropic Marin® GH-Test ermöglicht die schnelle und genaue Kontrolle der Gesamthärte des Aquarienwassers. Die Handhabung ist einfach durch die Verwendung von nur einer Reagenzlösung bei hoher Empfindlichkeit der Bestimmung. Das Testreagenz ist außerordentlich ergiebig und reicht für ca. 100 Anwendungen.

  2. Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

    Messbereich: 1 – 20 °dH
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): 0,5/1 °dH
    zur Bestimmung der Gesamthärte im Süßwasseraquarium
    Messung in °dH (Umrechnungstabelle für andere Einheiten in Gebrauchsanweisung enthalten)
    ausreichend für ca. 100 Anwendungen
    durch doppelte Probenmenge genauere Bestimmung der Gesamthärte möglich
  3. Anwendungsempfehlung:

    1. Die Tropfflasche vor Gebrauch schütteln!
    2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.
    3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 5 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvette füllen.
    4. Nun tropfenweise GH-Testreagenz zugeben (nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette schütteln) bis die Farbe der Lösung von ROSA nach TÜRKIS umschlägt.
    5. Die Anzahl der Tropfen gibt die Gesamthärte der Lösung in °dH an, also z.B. 8 Tropfen = 8 °dH. Um die Genauigkeit der Messung zu erhöhen, können 10 ml Wasserprobe (statt 5 ml) verwendet werden. In diesem Fall entspricht 1 Tropfen = 0,5 °dH, also z.B. 15 Tropfen = 7,5 °dH.
    6. Nach dem Messvorgang Glasküvette und Spritze gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen.

    Maßnahmen

    Ist die Gesamthärte zu hoch, empfehlen wir einen Teilwasserwechsel mit enthärtetem Wasser. Lassen Sie sich dazu auch von Ihrem Zoofachhändler beraten. Bei zu niedriger Gesamthärte empfehlen wir zur Aufhärtung die Zugabe von Tropic Marin® PRO-DISCUS MINERAL.

    Haltbarkeit
    Die Reagenzien sind 6 Monate nach Anbruch haltbar. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

    Die gesamte Bedienungsanleitung als PDF-Dokument finden Sie hier: GH-Test

  4. Artikel

    Art-N°

    GH-Test 28230
    Nachfüllpackung 28774