KH/Alkalinity-Test

  1. Features:

    For determining the alkalinity (KH)

    The carbonate hardness (KH) or alkalinity of a water sample characterises the buffering capacity, i.e. the ability to maintain the pH value of the water. There are many terms in water chemistry to describe the buffering capacity with varying definitions. The term “carbonate hardness” is customary in fishkeeping; however, it is the alkalinity which is measured. In this test, both terms are used synonymously. The reading for alkalinity is usually given in degrees of German hardness (°dH).

    The alkalinity should be tested in all aquariums with great regularity. If the alkalinity in the aquarium is too low, the pH value can sink (sudden drop in acidity) to a level which is life-threatening for many fish and invertebrates. In reef aquariums, an adequate alkalinity level is essential for strong coral growth. On the other hand, an overly high alkalinity in saltwater tanks can lead to calcium carbonate precipitates and also have a negative impact on coral growth. The alkalinity in saltwater aquariums should range from 6 to 9 °dH. The alkalinity in freshwater aquariums should not fall below 3 °dH.

    The Tropic Marin® KH-Test kit makes it possible to quickly determine the alkalinity of your aquarium water by ease of use and high accuracy.

  2. Benefits:

    Measurement range: 1 – 20 °dH
    Accuracy: 0.5/ 1 °dH
    For determining the alkalinity in aquaria
    Sufficient for approximately 100 applications
    Measured on the German hardness scale (°dH)
    Conversion Table for other units in the instruction manual included
  3. How to use:

    1. Shake the dropper bottle before use!
    2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.
    3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 5 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe.
    4. Now add the KH test reagent drop by drop (shake the cuvette after each drop), until the colour of the solution changes from TURQUOISE to PINK.
    5. The number of drops indicates the alkalinity of the solution in °dH, e.g. 8 drops = 8 °dH. To increase the accuracy of the measurement, a 10 ml water sample (instead of 5 ml) can be used. In that case, 1 drop corresponds to 0.5 °dH, i.e. 15 drops = 7.5 °dH.
    6. Rinse out the glass cuvette and the syringe thoroughly with tap water after the measurement process.

    How to correct unfavourable values

    To increase the alkalinity when levels are too low, we recommend using Tropic Marin® TRIPLE BUFFER or LIQUID BUFFER for saltwater applications and Tropic Marin® RE-MINERAL TROPIC for freshwater applications. If the alkalinity level is too high in your saltwater aquarium, we recommend using Tropic Marin® ALCA-BALANCE.

    Shelf life and storage6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

    The entire instruction manual as PDF file can be found here: KH/Alkalinity-Test

  4. Item

    Art-N°

    KH-Test 28240
    Refill Pack 28776

KH/Alkalinity-Test

  1. Produktbeschreibung:

    Zur Bestimmung der Karbonathärte

    Die Karbonathärte (KH) bzw. Alkalinität einer Wasserprobe charakterisiert die Pufferfähigkeit, d.h. die Fähigkeit zur Aufrechterhaltung des pH-Wertes des Wassers. In der Wasserchemie existieren mehrere Begriffe zur Beschreibung der Pufferfähigkeit mit unterschiedlichen Definitionen. In der Aquaristik ist der Begriff „Karbonathärte“ gebräuchlich; gemessen wird jedoch die Alkalinität. In diesem Test werden beide Begriffe gleichbedeutend verwendet. Die Angabe für die Karbonathärte erfolgt meist in Grad deutscher Härte (°dH).

    Die Karbonathärte sollte in allen Aquarien mit großer Regelmäßigkeit überprüft werden. Ist die Alkalinität im Aquarium zu gering, kann es zu einem für viele Fische und Wirbellose lebensbedrohenden Absinken des pH-Wertes (Säuresturz) kommen. In Riffaquarien ist eine ausreichende Karbonathärte wesentlich für ein kräftiges Korallenwachstum. Auf der anderen Seite kann eine zu hohe Karbonathärte in Meerwasserbecken zu Kalkausfällungen führen und auch das Wachstum der Korallen negativ beeinflussen. Im Meerwasseraquarium sollte die Karbonathärte zwischen 6 und 9 °dH liegen. In Süßwasseraquarien sollte die Karbonathärte nicht unter 3 °dH sinken.

    Der Tropic Marin® KH -Test ermöglicht die schnelle Kontrolle der Karbonathärte Ihres Aquarienwassers. Durch funktionelle Gestaltung des Test Kits erreichen Sie bei einfachster Handhabung eine hohe Genauigkeit.

  2. Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

    Messbereich: 1 – 20 °dH
    Auflösung (Genauigkeit): 0,5/1 °dH
    zur Bestimmung der Karbonathärte/Alkalinität im Aquarium
    Messung in °dH (Umrechnungstabelle für andere Einheiten in Gebrauchsanweisung enthalten)
    ausreichend für ca. 100 Anwendungen
    durch doppelte Probenmenge genauere Bestimmung der Karbonathärte möglich
  3. Anwendungsempfehlung:

    1. Die Tropfflasche vor Gebrauch schütteln!
    2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.
    3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 5 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvette füllen.
    4. Nun tropfenweise KH-Testreagenz zugeben (nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette schütteln), bis die Farbe der Lösung von TÜRKISBLAU nach PINK umschlägt.
    5. Die Anzahl der Tropfen gibt die Karbonathärte der Lösung in °dH an, also z.B. 8 Tropfen = 8 °dH. Um die Genauigkeit der Messung zu erhöhen, können 10 ml Wasserprobe (statt 5 ml) verwendet werden. In diesem Fall entspricht 1 Tropfen = 0,5 °dH, also z.B. 15 Tropfen = 7,5 °dH.
    6. Nach dem Messvorgang Glasküvette und Spritze gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen.

    Maßnahmen

    Zur Erhöhung der Karbonathärte bei zu niedrigen Werten empfehlen wir im Meerwasserbereich die Verwendung von Tropic Marin® TRIPLE BUFFER oder LIQUID BUFFER und im Süßwasserbereich Tropic Marin® RE-MINERAL TROPIC.

    Bei zu hoher Karbonathärte im Meerwasseraquarium empfehlen wir die Anwendung von Tropic Marin® ALCA-BALANCE.

    Haltbarkeit
    Die Reagenzien sind 6 Monate nach Anbruch haltbar. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

    Die gesamte Bedienungsanleitung als PDF-Dokument finden Sie hier: KH/Alkalinity-Test

  4. Artikel

    Art-N°

    KH-Test 28240
    Nachfüllpackung 28776